Welcome to Blogster!
1,488,081 Blogster Users  |  364,642 Posts
 
 
 

wonderingwhatnottosay

 

Blog Traffic: 3407

Posts: 11

My Comments: 3

User Comments: 10

Photos: 2

Friends: 2

Following: 0

Followers: 0

Points: 292

Last Online: 918 days ago


 
 

Visitors

No Recent Visitors
 

Author Interview: Krysten Lindsay Hager and her True Colors

Added: Tuesday, January 20th 2015 at 12:00pm by wonderingwhatnottosay
 
 
 

I'm here today interviewing author Krysten Lindsay Hager and her True Colors novel.  

1.       How did you get started writing?

I’ve been writing since I was a kid and in college I couldn’t take enough literature classes. I went over the amount I needed to graduate. It has always been my first love. I’ve also worked in journalism so I’ve always been in a writing related field. 

2.       What are your favorite Books?

 

One of my favorite YA books growing up was Goodbye Glamor Girl by Erika Tamar. The Great Gatsby is another favorite although it did nothing for me when we read it in grade school and in high school. I only learned to appreciate it in the last couple years.

1.       How long did it take you to write True Colors?

Honestly can’t say because I took some time after writing it to move a few times and when I was overseas, I wasn’t submitting it. I actually had about one-hundred pages of the sequel written when I got the contract for the first book. So now I’ve finished the sequel (it will come out in 2015) and I’m halfway through writing book three.

2.       What has been the best and the worst experience you’ve had on your literary journey?

 

The best experience has been all the new friends I’ve made and people I’ve met. I never realized how much literature connects people. I’ve had people from other countries tell me how they related to Landry’s story and it’s such a personal thing to share a story with someone. Worst experience would be the fact my dad had an accident and severe complications from surgery right before the book came out. He was so instrumental in supporting my writing and it’s hard some days to try and focus on work when he’s going through so much.

1.       What makes your book different from other books that may have a similar theme and content?

I think the fact that Landry is such a relatable character and so open and honest about her insecurities. Growing up it would have been nice to read about a character who admitted how nervous and anxious she got over things that took her out of her comfort zone. I have a lot of people (kids and adults) tell me they enjoyed that aspect of her. Also a lot of books that deal with frenemies and pushy/controlling friends and bullying don’t use humor and humor is a big part of my writing.

2.       Who would enjoy reading your type of book?

Fans of Judy Blume, Lauren Myracle, Rachel Vail, and the book, My Life in Pink and Green. Anyone who likes a funny book that deals with friendships, frenemies and self-esteem issues.

3.       Besides writing, what else do you do for fun with your free time?

I love to read and go to bookstores. I’ve moved a lot, so keeping in touch with friends is a lot of fun for me. I also like to watch figure skating, basketball (mostly the playoffs more than regular season), football, and comedies. I also like old Carole Lombard movies and anything with Audrey Hepburn or Rock Hudson in it. My mom had a crush on Rock Hudson growing up and she jokingly refers to him as my, “real father.”

4.       Some writers like the room to be silent when typing away, while others listen to music, what do you prefer? If you listen to music, what kind of genre?

Funny you ask that. Now I have to have complete silence, but that wasn’t the case when I was writing True Colors. I used to listen to a CD from when I was a kid from The Bangles which is funny because I imagine four of my characters as looking like the teen version of that group. I also listened to Tchaikovsky a lot. It’s easier to listen to something without lyrics. I lost that Tchaikovsky CD so it never made it onto my ipod. I would love to have that one again. I do have a playlist for the book on my website at: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/true-colors-book-trailer-facts-inspiration-board--playlist.html

5.       Do you have any advice for aspiring writers/authors?

Take literature classes to learn from the masters on how to put together a story. Take writing classes, go to conferences and workshops and have professional critiques as well as joining a critique group.

 

Book Links:

Amazon.com: http://www.amazon.com/True-Colors-Krysten-Lindsay-Hager-ebook/dp/B00L2G0YJS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1403419976&sr=8-1&keywords=krysten+lindsay+hager

 

Barnesandnoble.com: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/true-colors-krysten-lindsay-hager/1119742726?ean=2940149747658

 

itunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/true-colors/id890673002

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/true-colors-17

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/449308

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/True-Colors-Krysten-Lindsay-Hager-ebook/dp/B00L2G0YJS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1403420109&sr=8-1&keywords=krysten+lindsay+hager

 

Connect with Krysten:

Website: http://www.krystenlindsay.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KrystenLindsayHagerAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KrystenLindsay

Instagram: http://instagram.com/krystenlindsay

 

User Comments

Post A Comment

This user has disabled anonymous commenting.